Creating the Perfect Care Package

Fall is among us and the holidays are just around the corner.  I’m lucky enough to have December to look forward to since I will have my Dad home for almost two weeks.  Most people with loved ones deployed are not as fortunate as I am this Christmas.  A great way to help make your loved one feel as if they’re getting to spend a little bit of the upcoming seasons with you is to make fun, creative and personal care packages.  I’ve compiled some of my favorite seasonal how-to care packages for some inspirational ideas to bring you closer to the one you miss.

With Halloween the first up, Army Wife 101 brings us her “Boo-Tacular” Halloween Care Package ideas.  This care package is a great way to showcase what the kids are dressing up as this year, or to send your loved one their favorite candy.

Next up is Thanksgiving! Married to the Army has compiled a list for all kinds of care package occasions.  I especially love her thanksgiving ideas including canned turkey, instant mashed potato cups, and hostess apple pies.  As military families, we’re thankful everyday, do a little bit more by making your loved one feel appreciated on thanksgiving by sending them a list of what makes you so thankful for them.

Photo Courtesy of: http://itsjordyn33.tumblr.com

A clever New Years care package
Photo Courtesy of: http://itsjordyn33.tumblr.com

Christmas is where you can get the most creative.  Sharing old family photos, or your favorite Christmas together is a great idea for bringing your loved one back to that memory, and letting them know that they’ll be home making new ones soon.  Deployment Diva has tons of ideas for not only Christmas care packages but almost every kind you can think of.  Deployment Diva included a mini stocking filled with small candies, santa slingshots, and even tree scented sticks to give the deployed the feeling of Christmas morning while being away.

I hope some of these ideas work for you and help you cope a little bit better as the holidays approach us.  I know I will be sending my Dad one before he gets home, I just have to come up with my own idea because chances are he already read this before it arrives! Check back soon to see what I come up with for my original care package.

