A salute to Military spouses, featuring Alecia Laudisio

With the holidays approaching, and my Dad (literally) on his way home for two weeks I can’t help but feel a pit in my stomach for all the other people who don’t get their loved one home over the holiday (my Dad is using an R&R to visit home for the holidays).  Through this blog I have been exposed to an entire community that I knew existed but never saw myself being a part of.  I am not a military spouse, just a daughter dealing with a year long civilian deployment of my Father.  However, between the blog and the people I’ve met and the stories I’ve shared, I know that I am more patriotic than ever and somehow feel connected within a community.

My Military Infographic post was probably one of my favorites, so I’ve decided to recreate it to salute Military spouses.  I’ve also interviewed a great girl, Alecia who is struggling to deal with her boyfriend’s absence, and included some of my favorite pieces of advice from the wonderful ladies I follow and share with you on my blogroll.

Here’s a run down of my favorite Military spouse facts:

Infographic-Miitary Spouses

Infographic-Miitary Spouses

  •  80% of Military Wives are under the age of 35.  The average female age of marriage in the U.S. is 27, in 2011.
  • 5% of Military spouses are men.  I love this stat so much.  So many times Military spouses are assumed to be women, I just love that there’s a percentage of strong men who are supportive and proud of their wives and the career path they chose for themselves.
  • 3,000+ Military spouses have been widowed since the beginning of the War on Terror in 2001.
  • 85% of Military spouses want/need to work, 26% of them are unemployed.  This seems to be the biggest issue in Military spouses.  Due to frequent moving, too many obligations with children, and the employer having a larger interest in the soon to be home serviceman or woman, it is very difficult for Military spouses to find work.
  • Military families move over state lines 2.4 more times than the average American family, that’s two to three times a year.
  • 56% of active duty members are currently married.
  • 900,000 children across America have experienced the deployment of either one, or both parents, multiple times.
  • In 2011, the divorce rate of all Services’ peaked at only a little over 3.5%, which means Military divorces make up 0.0175%  out of the 50% divorce rate in America.

 

 

 

  • My first recommended blog, and post for that matter is Deployment Divas, Jessica Aycock reviews here her best possible way to coach fellow Military spouses through deployment.
DeploymentDivas.com

DeploymentDivas.com

  • The next blog is Daily Dwelling.  Monica’s entire blog is resourceful, helpful, and great advice.
DailyDwelling.com

DailyDwelling.com

  • The last blog I’m going to share is Real Warriors.  This blog will remind you that no matter the pain your feeling about missing someone you love, what they’re doing is much bigger than how you’re feeling.  It’s truly a great blog to learn about great stories and ways to help active duty members and vets.
Real Warriors

RealWarriors.net

 

One thought on “A salute to Military spouses, featuring Alecia Laudisio

  1. Pingback: ‘Farewell’ Post | Red, White & Feeling Blue

Comments are closed.